Chapter History

The Lambda Omicron Chapter in Manatee-Sarasota Counties was initiated in 1960 by fifteen remarkable women: Annie Pearcey, Priscilla Yvette Carter, Christine Clark, Charlyne Cromartie, Jean Crayton, Doretha Hall, Nellie Harris, Barbara Harvey, Jo-Ann Hughes, Earline Pearcey, Jacquelyn Robinson, Edwina Stanley, Ollie Stanley, Pearlie Stewart, and Nicey Tillman. Several were educators and met each other at various school and community activities. The nearest chapter was twenty miles away in St. Petersburg, and another fifty miles away in Tampa.

The chapter was chartered on August 13, 1977 by Mrs. Norma Solomon White, the Regional Director of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated. Annie Pearcey was named the chapter’s First Chartering President.

In 1978, we started a tutoring program for 10th and 11th graders at Lincoln Middle School in Manatee County and Booker High School in Sarasota County. Our first scholarship recipient was Vickie Pearcey from Sarasota High School, class of 1978. Vickie then attended the University of Miami and became a member of the sorority.

On June 20, 1981 Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. sponsored “Take A Friend To Lunch” at the Hyatt House in Sarasota. This community event increased the opportunity to tell others about the sorority. The Chapter adopted “You’ve Got A Friend” as the chapter’s official song.
In November of 1982, the Chapter collaborated with Mrs. Thelma Caruso and the Chancel Players to present “God’s Trombones” by James Johnson at Christ’s Episcopal Church and St. Mary Missionary Baptist in Bradenton. The diverse cast included community members as well as members speaking and singing spirituals directed by Mrs. Edwina Stanley. Members also participated in the Panhellenic Chorale concerts to perpetuate the Negro Spiritual.
The chapter’s first Fashionetta was held on November 8, 1984 at the Sarasota Opera Theatre. We also participated in the Fashionetta’s of 1985, 1986, and 1989 in both Sarasota and Bradenton. 

2012-2013:Jacqueline Lewis
2013-2014: Linda Carnes
2014-2015: YaVonka Sanders
2015-2016: Casmere Thomas
2016-2017: Toni Rosier
2017-2018: Francina Hollaway
2018-2019: Jacquelin Jones
2019-2020: Lucile Mobley

The chapter’s first Fashionetta was held on November 8, 1984 at the Sarasota Opera Theatre. We also participated in the Fashionetta’s of 1985, 1986, and 1989 in both Sarasota and Bradenton.The Lambda Omicron Omega Chapter of Manatee and Sarasota County has welcomed over 50 members in the past 30 years. We are thankful for all of our members!

Charter Members

Christine Calhoun Clark*+^
Charlyne Davis Cromartie
Jean Cotton Crayton
Nellie Grace Harris
Barbara Andrews Harvey*+^
Jo-Anne Martin Hughes*+^
Annie Boatright Pearcey*+^

E. Virginia Stanley Pearcey*
Doretha Alexander Pratt+^
Jacqueline Monson Robinson*
Edwina Mitchell Stanley

Ollie Betty Stanley
Pearlie Mae Stewart
Nicey Hill Tillman
Priscilla Carter Williams

* = Golden Members (50 plus years)

+= Pearl Members (65-74 plus years)

^= Life Members

Chapter Officers

President Chaplain
Mrs. Theresa Scott Mrs. Barbara Harvey
Vice-President  Keeper of the Door
Ms. LaTanya Edwards Ms. Marcia Glogowski
Recording Secretary Treasurer
Ms. Alexandria Searls Mrs. Bernadine Rice
Assistant Recording Secretary  Financial Secretary
Ms. Betty Gibson Ms. Monique Toler
Corresponding Secretary  Greeter
Mrs. Avolon Moses Mrs. Frankie Dawkins
Historian/Archivist  Ivy Leaf Reporter
Mrs. Francina Hollaway Mrs. Edna Sherrell
Mrs. Stephanie Sandaire

Current Members

Christina Able
Sheron Ackerman
Constance Anderson
Gloria Armstrong
Johnnie Davis Ashley#^
Yvonne Brown#^
Lucia Callaway
Tafara Callaway
Joretha Capers*
Linda Carnes#^
Christine Clark*
Shavon Clark Harris
Pamela Cokley
Jocelyn Curry
Frankie Dawkins
Sandra Dipentima#
Audrea Dixon
Linda Douglas
LaTanya Edwards
Joy Felton
Jeannie Floyd#^
LaShawn Frost

Lonnetta Gaines*
Latricia Gambrell#&
Betty Gibson
Marcia Glogowski*
Patricia Grimsley*
Ivory Gordon
Patricia Grimsley*^
Barbara Harvey*^
Brenda Harvey#^
Rosalind Hill#^
Cheryl Hollaway
Francina Hollaway#^
Yovonda Holmes-Shepherd
Jo-Ann Hughes*^
Barbara Hunter
Dawn Jamison
Regina Jenkins#
Mae Ethel Johnson
Jacquelin Jones#
Carla Jones#
Ollie Lampkins
LaTanya Lawrence
Jacquelin Lewis*
Clara Mims
Lucile Mobley#
Clarice Moore#
Avalon Moses#
Gwendolyn Newsome
Yolanda Patterson
Annie Pearcey*^
Rosemarie Pearcey

Jeanette W. Planes
Oretta Pollock
Doretha Pratt *+^
Ericka Randall
Keosha Randall
Jacqueline Ray*
Bernadine Rice
Corene Richardson*
Tony Rosier
Stephanie Sandaire
Mieta Scott-Dunmore
Taeresa Scott
Shirley Shaw*
Courtney Spann
Edna Sherrell
Andrea Simpson
Courtney Spann
Cheryl Steele#
Yovonda Holmes-Shepherd
Cheryl Steele
Gloria Stephens#
Frances Taylor#
Casmere Thomas
Monique Toler#^
Dannie Dance
Peggie Wallace#
Adrienne Ward-Paramore
Jawanna Wilkins
Barbara Brown Withers*
Judith Williams#
Karla Jones Wilson
Deborah Wooten#

^= #Silver Members

* = Golden Members (50 plus years)

+ = Pearl Members (65-74 plus years)

^= Life Members